Reading

I love comic books. Not fanatically like Dante but I used to have my moments, would sit with fellow comic buffs and discuss the intricacies of why Onslaught is not exactly a villain and ofcourse who are our favourites.

As a result, we also used to discuss which powers we would like to have. I wanted to be like Jean Grey… oba more like the Phoenix… ate Cyclops was her guy too, just perfect. Anyway, the ability to move things with her mind and get into someone’s brain as an attack mechanism was just so dope. I would so use it against punks who say idiotic things to babes, I hear ‘oli sizi yange’ or touching your butt, sizzle their little brains to almost emptiness. And then all y’all who litter the streets like one can’t keep that piece of scrap until they get to a dust bin that are now provided all over the city, would have something to fear.

For sometime now, haven’t had the time to seriously read comic books, magazines and novels like I used to. Have to either do it away from Rhys or when he is sleeping or else, he will take a serious interest in whatever it is you are reading and you ust might end up with half, quarter pages… These days, it takes me like a month to finish a 350 paged book that normally would have finished in 2 days maximum… its embarassing. If some of my former schoolmates knew this, they would be in shock. My reading was so bad that even during CANTAB (final exams to you Candybox, Modo and Valentia), instead of cracking away at Biology, I would be hooked on a novel. It was euphoric…

The amazing thing is that, like me and basically the majority of my family, Rhys is also an avid reader… okay, not sure if reader is the right term for him. But he can actually tell if a book is upside down so we should at least acknowledge that and let him graduate to reader. The majority of his books, made of thick and hard pages, also end up in pieces at some point though because it seems he gets bored with them and this is his way of assuring you that better style up and get new ones… Will definately get more and more books for him, get him very knowledgable earlier than the usual… again I say, NASA here we come!

By Sybella Posted in Life

10 comments on “Reading

  1. i have superpowers too! i.am.Deg *muhahahhaha*

    i love comics, i love books.

    so going to stick on Rhys from now on so one day i’ll be able to say i know somebody up at NASA.
    ……..
    Jaz.

  2. Well
    Jean Gray huh!!
    i wouldn’t mind being NightCrawler too…

    Lol @Degstar

    Sy,
    its amazing that Rhys can tell whether a book is upside down or not…

  3. Used to love comics but more along the line of Archie, but haven’t read one in like eons.
    As for novels i’m still hooked. Wonder what you’re reading right now.
    I’m reading Tears Of The Giraffe by Alexander McCall Smith; very funny

  4. Love them too. My hubby and his sis still ‘abuse’ each other using the ‘billions and billions of blue blistering barnacles’ from Tintin.
    @Candybox, yay for someone reading and loving Precious Ramotswe

  5. billions and billions of blue blistering barnacles! I remember that from Tin Tin! I think those were my first comics. Graduated to Calvin and Hobbes. But still Tin Tin stuck. I wanted to go all the places he’d been. That’s how I got interested in the world I think. Didn’t read super hero stuff. Oh, Captain Underpants anyone? Seriously, I read Captain Underpants.

Leave a Reply

