Acceptance…

The act of receiving with approval and favour…

Acceptance is something that we crave for. Inevitably, we will always find fault with people, even the ones we consider perfect, who are closest to us, who we love to a fault, who encompass our world, who are our all… The trick is to love them and accept them for who they are… their faults contributes to what makes them so special in our lives; never to throw these faults in their faces.

 

I felt recently, a certain kind of rejection and judgement of a part of me that is just me, not like everyone and all I wanted to do was scream accept me for who I am and everything that I am…

 

I will never be Alicia, beautiful, gifted and close to perfect girl…

I will never be Beyonce, the incredibly attractive and ever, it seems, bubbly chic…

I will never be Madonna, the wild and at the same time classy lady, funky dancer and mother all in the same breath…  

I will never be Halle, alluring, charming and yet so very approachable…

I will never Tamora, always the upstanding Christian who seems untainted by wrong doing…

 

I will always just be me.  

By Sybella Posted in Just

15 comments on “Acceptance…

  1. ok… who stepped on ur kewl self? i can organize my peoplez… we b on them like ice on mirinda pineapple! or maybe fanta berry even… 😀

  2. I agree with Princess…been yourself is enough Sy…..and so much better than been a carbon copy of someone else…so to whoever isn’t appreciating you…washindwe!!!!!!! (err…rebuking people in the name of Jesus)

  3. It’s a constant battle, isn’t it? The battle between who we are, who we want to be and who we should be. You are a better person than I for admitting that the battle can’t be won and accepting yourself. Well done.

  4. I have learnt to accept that I am not as outgoing as my sister and not as pretty. I no longer mind it when people point that out. I have also learnt not to try to change people but accept them the way they are. Those that can’t stand me, I just avoid and life goes on.

Leave a Reply

