Dear Daddy

Get so caught up everyday
Tryna keep it all together
While the time it slips away
You see I know nothing last forever

Imagine there was no tomorrow
Imagine that I couldn’t see your face
There’d be no limit to my sorrow
So all I can say

I wanna tell you something

 

Give you something
Show you in so many ways
‘Cause it would all mean nothing

If I don’t say something

Before it all goes away
 

 

Don’t wanna wait to bring you flowers

Waste another hour let alone another day
I’m gonna tell you something

Show you something

Won’t wait till it’s too late

I can’t wait, I can’t wait

 

I won’t wait

I don’t wanna wait

Just a simple conversation
Just a moment is all it takes
I wanna be there just to listen
And I don’t wanna hesitate

Imagine there was no tomorrow
Imagine that I couldn’t see your face
There would be no limit to my sorrow
‘Cause there’s nothing that could fill that space

 

Ohh did I put it off for too long
I didn’t say all that I had to say
I wanna take my time to right the wrong

Before we get to that place

…………………………………………..


Just lean on my shoulder,
It’s not over till it’s over
Don’t worry about it cause
I’m gonna make sure our bond gets stronger
I don’t wanna wait until the storm

When something’s wrong and now you are gone

And I can’t find you

 

Tell You Something, Alicia Keys

Dear Daddy,

This is the 14th Christmas that we have celebrated without you. I miss you so much… there is so much that has happened that you have missed out on… meeting him and harangueing him just like fathers are supposed to with every guy who is interested in his girl, I think you would have liked him… watching Rhys grow up, from being a small incling of a baby mving to the various stages; the sitting bit then crawling and then the big one of making those tentative steps to the all out running. It is amazing how tall he is becoming … he is a handsome boy who looks so much like you. He is also intelligent, he started school and his teachers are impressed with his fast progress. You would have loved Rhys and bonded with him so hard. He has missed out on knowing his Shwenkuru… I pray that you will meet in heaven and make up for all the lost time one good day…

Oooh, then the U.S.A. have a black president, I know you would have been impressed by that.

There are so many things in my life that I realized that I actually take for granted and I am sorry for so many things that I did that didn’t please you… so many times that I didn’t say thank you… so many times that I was not grateful that you were in my life as a caring loving father… I do not want to make those same mistakes with the people who I have in my life who are special… I will say I love you to them everyday… to say thank you for the smallest of things that they do… give them a big hug when they are hurting despite of everything and anything… to apprecaite them in whichever way I can…

I still love you… I still miss you…

Me.

16 comments on “Dear Daddy

  1. I’m rushing off to hug my own Daddy right now. Thank you for reminding me I need to show him love before it’s too late. I have a real hug for you when I get back, I’ll hunt you down. In the meantime since you refuse to even come to BHH, ((((Sy))))).

  2. i thank you my dear, today i will call my daddy to find out how he is doing and to let him know i miss him. sy, this is a wonderful dedication. i can imagine rhys, i can only imagine what he is like. holla back

  3. at the risk of sounding liek a scratched[from being overplayed] boyz to men cd “one sweet day”
    i know he is watching over you, and all you hold dear and smiling knowingly at all your decisions and seeing Rhys grow. he knows you have his blood, will probably make the same decisions…and he knows silently, that no matter what, you will get it right.

Leave a Reply

