Anger…

“And don’t sin by letting anger control you. Don’t let the sun go down while you are still angry”
Ephesians 4:26, NLT

When I get angry or upset, I tend to lash out at the world. Especially if I am ‘scratched’, which may not necessarily be someone actually deliberately provoking me but something small. Like Rhys may decide to act stubborn and decide to write on the walls with his crayons 2 days after the house has been painted. Boy does he get the fill of my wrath at that point.

I hate doing this so I learnt long time ago, that at such times I need to first cool down before doing anything about it. The other thing was that getting angry or upset would mean you giving the person who caused it control over you. And I love to be in control so I learnt that dissipating it as fast as possible was the only way to get the power back. The techniques: breaking glass, watching a cartoon, listening to music, talking to someone who cares especially him but most importantly prayer. How do you deal with your anger?

This is some inspiration from Joel Osteen concerning anger:

Do you realize how much energy it takes to be bitter or hold a grudge? We only have a certain amount of energy for each day. If we use it for the wrong purposes, focused on the negative, dwelling on who hurt us, we’re not going to have the energy we need for the right purposes. We’re not going to make the best decisions. We’re not going to be as creative. We’re not only doing ourselves a disservice, but we’re doing our family and our friends a disservice.

Remember, you can’t control what people do or say. You can only control yourself. If you’re allowing others to upset you, then you are giving away your power. The Scripture says, “Don’t let the sun go down on your anger.” The reason many people have no joy or enthusiasm is because they go to bed every night with anger and unforgiveness. When you go to bed like that, with a cluttered mind, focused on the negative, you wake up with the same negative emotions. Don’t let anger and unforgiveness block God’s blessing in your life. Choose to let those things go so you can live in the peace, joy, and power the Lord has for you.

14 comments on “Anger…

  1. It is such an easy choice, but so hard to make!

    I struggle everyday with anger. Especially anger about ignorance and mediocrity. I really, really do.

  2. am proud to say that lately am getting the hang of this anger thing…my solution?? not to place expectations on people, that way whatever they do am not really affected, tis tight i assure you, but it works most of the time for me

  3. About the easier said part that everyone is echoing. It has a lot to do with personality. Some people are hot heads, getting angry and blowing up at the slightest thing, others are pacifists, and will calmly walk away from a shoutfest.

    Or at the least they will not let the anger get to them.

    And I agree, you cannot control what others do/say, you only control how you react to those [stimuli], but also, the grace of Abba is abundant enough to help us deal with the things outside of our control.

  4. Hmmn
    i’m back..
    i just chill for a bit and tell the source of my drama the drama!
    takes some time…

    but steadily working on it…

    the yelling stoppt like a hundred years ago…
    though sometimes…

  5. Depends on where i am….if am home i’ll disorganize my room and re-organize it or take a long walk.

    Other times i spend……….

    I talk about watever got me angry.

  6. i find it really difficult to deal with my anger. my best solution is to keep quite.ignore it like nothing happened because if i react on it, i fear i might hurt people. but then my boyfriend is the biggest preacher of “we should not go to bed mad at each other.”…i have had to swallow the bitter pill alot of times but truth be told, sometimes you sleep better after you have vented!

    and cosign Ugandan Girl!!!!

Leave a Reply

